Friday, April 24, 2015

Training Opportunity. Pacific ADA Center. Closing Gaps in Local Emergency Plans and Grassroots Emergency Planning

http://adapresentations.org/schedule.php

Announcing a new webinar - "FEMA Promising Practices: Closing Gaps in Local Emergency Plans and Grassroots Emergency Planning"

May 14th, 2015

Webinars begin at 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/8.30am Hawaii.
This presentation will share two practices that brought people together to bring about increased knowledge and action on emergency preparedness. First, we will hear about the lessons learned from the Massachusetts Active Planning project, which brought together local disability community members with their localities, to work collaboratively, share resources and expertise about emergency preparedness and response for and with people with disabilities, ultimately enhancing resilience for the whole community. Our speakers will focus on a replicable collaborative, inclusive Community Stakeholder Meeting (CSM) gap analysis process to address issues of community-wide concern, such as needs assessment, resident participation in local emergency planning, risk communication, public preparedness education and creative use of community resources to address emergency needs, for example in emergency shelters. Our second set of speakers will describe an effort to get people with disabilities and other access and functional needs to prepare for emergencies, for that group to communicate needs to emergency responders, and to encourage businesses and local civic leaders to plan cooperatively for needs through periodic community meetings.
Learning Objectives:
  • Understand how to identify key stakeholders in the community and learn strategies for collaboration.
  • Learn how to perform a gap analysis of your local emergency plan using the Active Planning Workbook and identify priorities and strategies for plan improvement.
  • Learn strategies and practical steps for improving the general state of emergency preparedness in a community.
Presenter:
  • Sue Wolf-Fordham and Nancy Shea, Active Planning Project, University of Massachusetts Medical School E.K. Shriver Center Emergency Preparedness & Response Initiative.
  • Ted Stamp Southwestern Center for Independent Living and Tammy VanOverbeke, Lyon County Emergency Manager.
To view all of the sessions for the coming year, or to see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php
Pacific ADA Center
555 12th Street
Suite 1030
Oakland, CA 94607

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow BEMA Posts

Archive and Site Search

Membership Fees\Dues

Membership (New & Renewal)
BEMA is a 501c3 Nonprofit Organization. All donations, and membership dues\fees are tax deductible.

Drink Life Beverages ....A Woman Owned Enterprise

Drink Life Beverages ....A Woman Owned Enterprise
Drink for Life. Communities drinking and eating well.

..Haiti. We will not forget.

Live Prepared

Live Prepared
High-quality preparedness products.

reliefweb

Online Courses Free College Courses

The PhD Project

The PhD Project
Mission is to increase the diversity of corporate America by increasing the diversity of business school faculty. We attract African-Americans, Hispanic-Americans and Native Americans to business Ph.D. programs, and provide a network of peer support on their journey to becoming professors.

The HIVE 2.0

The HIVE 2.0
.....

Contact us at......

BEMA@blackemergmanagersassociation.org

Black Emergency Managers Association.
1231 Good Hope Road. S.E. Washington, D.C. 20020

BEMA@BlackEmergManagersAssociation.org

A 501c3 nonprofit organization