Monday, September 9, 2013

Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000

DMA 2000 (Public Law 106-390) provides the legal basis for FEMA mitigation planning requirements for State, local and Indian Tribal governments as a condition of mitigation grant assistance. 

DMA 2000 amended the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act by repealing the previous mitigation planning provisions and replacing them with a new set of requirements that emphasize the need for State, local, and Indian Tribal entities to closely coordinate mitigation planning and implementation efforts. 

The requirement for a State mitigation plan is continued as a condition of disaster assistance, adding incentives for increased coordination and integration of mitigation activities at the State level through the establishment of requirements for two different levels of state plans.

DMA 2000 also established a new requirement for local mitigation plans and authorized up to 7 percent of HMGP funds available to a State for development of State, local, and Indian Tribal mitigation plans.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Search This Blog

ARCHIVE List 2011 - Present