Tuesday, September 5, 2017

September 5, 2017. Recovery. Texas. Hurricane Harvey.

US Department of Homeland Security - Federal Emergency Management Agency

Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Four Counties

Release date: 
September 5, 2017
Release Number: 
AUSTIN, Texas – Four State of Texas/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers are open: one in Jackson County in the city of Edna, one in Harris County in the city of Houston, one in Colorado County in the city of Columbus, and another in Fayette County in the city of La Grange.
Disaster Recovery Centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in 32 counties included in the Texas federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey and the subsequent floods.
Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the State and other interests will be at the centers to talk about assistance and to help anyone who needs guidance in filing an application. The new centers are at these locations:
George R. Brown Convention Center 
1001 Avenida de las Americas
Houston, TX  77010

Cowboy Memorial Football Stadium
1303 West Gayle St.
Edna, TX 77957

Hours: Daily from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Colorado County Services Facility
305 Radio Lane
Columbus, TX  78934

Hours: Daily from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m

Randolph Recreation-Activity Center
653 East Pearl Street
La Grange, TX  78945

Hours: Daily from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
The U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) disaster assistance employees are committed to helping businesses and residents rebuild as quickly as possible. SBA representatives are available to answer questions about SBA’s disaster loan program and help business owners and residents apply to SBA.
Disaster Recovery Centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology equipment allowing disaster survivors to use amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices for people with hearing loss, and magnifiers for people with vision loss. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.
If possible, homeowners, renters and businesses should register with FEMA before visiting a recovery center. Eligible residents may register for assistance the following ways:
The following information is helpful when registering:
  • Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address).
  • Current mailing address.
  • Current telephone number.
  • Insurance information.
  • Total household annual income.
  • Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows FEMA to directly transfer disaster assistance funds into a bank account).
  • A description of disaster-caused damage and losses.
Disaster survivors can visit any of the centers for assistance. Locations of other recovery centers are online at www.fema.gov/DRC.
 “Homeowners, renters and businesses in Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Dewitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzalez, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Jacinto, Refugio, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Waller, Walker and Wharton may be eligible for help.”
Hurricane Harvey Resource and Info Pages
Texas Harvey disaster page: https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4332
Hurricane Harvey Rumor Control: https://www.fema.gov/hurricane-harvey-rumor-control
Hurricane Harvey disaster page: https://www.fema.gov/hurricane-harvey

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.
Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 (voice, 711/VRS - Video Relay Service) (TTY: 800-462-7585). Multilingual operators are available (press 2 for Spanish).
The SBA is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private non-profit organizations, homeowners, and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA’s website at www.sba.gov/disasterDeaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call (800) 877-8339.
Last Updated: 
September 5, 2017 - 18:42
State/Tribal Government or Region: 

No comments:

Post a Comment


Search This Blog

ARCHIVE List 2011 - Present