Sunday, April 28, 2024

Grant Opportunity: Up to $25k Awarded. Robert Wood Johnson Foundation invites applications for Culture of Health Prize. Application Deadline June 03, 2024 3:00 PM

April 26, 2024

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation invites applications for its 2024 Culture of Health Prize, which honors the work of communities that are at the forefront of addressing structural racism and other injustices to advance health, opportunity, and equity for all.
Since its launch in 2013, the prize has recognized more than 60 communities across the country, highlighting community-led solutions that show us that another world is possible, one where barriers to health are broken down through community power-building, cross-sector partnerships, policy reform, systems change, and the reclamation of cultural practices. Every community’s journey and strategies are unique, but across the board, prize communities create and sustain deep cross-sector partnerships. 
In 2024, RWJF will select up to 10 place-based communities to receive a $250,000 prize; national and local promotion of communities’ stories that will inspire others’ efforts; training and support to advance equity work and enhance influence with media, policymakers, advocacy networks, and grassroots organizations; and opportunities to expand networks by connecting with other Prize communities and national and local leaders working to build a Culture of Health. 
Reviewers use the following six selection criteria to evaluate all submissions throughout the process, with a particular focus on the first three criteria: addressing structural racism and other structural injustices to advance opportunity, health, and equity; committing to lasting changes in policy, systems, and financing that improve community conditions and center people directly impacted by the inequity addressed; working in partnership across sectors, and elevating the expertise and solutions held by people with firsthand experience of the inequities being addressed; engaging in work that preserves and celebrates community through cultural activities and practices that envision and advance a more just future; making the most of available resources to ensure the effort can endure over time; and measuring and sharing progress in culturally relevant ways.
Eligible applicants must represent one of the following: whole city, town, village, borough, or other municipality with a publicly elected governing body; county or parish; federally recognized tribal nations, state-designated American Indian reservation or other Indigenous communities; Native Hawaiian organization serving and representing the interests of Native Hawaiians or other Pacific Islanders in Hawaii; community within the territories administered by the United States (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands); or region, defined as geographically contiguous municipalities, counties, and/or reservations.
To be eligible, applications should represent a partnership of multiple unique organizations whose collaboration predates the prize application. Types of organizations participating in the partnership could include, but are not limited to nonprofit community-based organizations, businesses, community development organizations, government agencies or departments, community coalitions, faith-based organizations, grassroots and advocacy organizations, hospital or healthcare organizations, local and regional foundations, resident groups, and schools, colleges, and universities.
To be eligible for the prize, applications must designate a local U.S. government entity or tax- exempt 501(c)(3) public charity operating within the community to accept the $250,000 Prize on the community’s behalf should it win.
For complete program guidelines and application instructions, see the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation website.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Search This Blog

ARCHIVE List 2011 - Present