Sunday, October 22, 2023

'Black To The Future'. Carbon-Based Bipeds: the newsletter of the Arthur C. Clarke Award October 22, 2023

Greetings, Carbon-Based Bipeds!

We are delighted to announce that the Arthur C. Clarke Award science fiction book of the year is now open for submissions for titles published in 2023. 

The prize is open to novels written in English by an author of any nationality, provided that the novel is published for the first time by a UK publisher between 1 January and 31 December of the year for which submissions are open. 

Would you like to know more? Email us here.

Not one, not two, but three Clarke Award winners in conversation

Join Laura Jean McKay and Ned Beauman in conversation with Lauren Beukes this Thursday at Waterstones Trafalgar Square.


BLACK TO THE FUTURE is an Afro-Futurist celebration of outstanding Black artists, a space for visionary imaginings to thrive.

BTTF begins as British Black History month ends; launching late October and running until US Black History Month in February 2024, to accompany the British Library’s upcoming major exhibition: Fantasy: Realms of Imagination.

Curated, founded and directed by Irenosen Okojie MBE, in collaboration with the Royal Society of Literature and the British Library.

Events Programme

"Good news, everyone!"

THE CORAL BONES, shortlisted for the Clarke Award 2023, has been acquired by Jo Fletcher Books with a new print edition coming early 2024 and an ebook version available now!

 Spiders win! Spiders win! All hail Portia, and her spider kin!

Monolith-sized congratulations to Adrian Tchaikovsky who has scooped the Hugo Award for Best Series at the Chengdu Worldcon, the 81st World Science Fiction Convention on October 21, 2023 in Chengdu, China.

The series began with the hugely popular Clarke Award winner CHILDREN OF TIME, and includes sequels CHILDREN OF RUIN and CHILDREN OF MEMORY.

Locus Magazine has the complete list of winners and nominees.


Orbit Books has announced a special 10th anniversary edition of the record-breaking masterpiece that won the Hugo, Nebula and Arthur C. Clarke Awards.

This edition will feature a striking new cover, stained edges and illustrated endpapers, a foil case, reversible cover and a new introduction from the author.

Ann Leckie is the first author to win the Arthur C. Clarke, the Nebula and the Hugo Award for Best Novel in the same year.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Search This Blog

ARCHIVE List 2011 - Present